openmediavault

The open network attached storage solution

News

• New

Hi,

I upgraded my RPI 2 B+ from OMV2 to OMV4 by doing a clean install.

All seemed well at first, i.e. could access shares as I wanted, etc., but now it is crashing periodically and I don't know the cause :( (BTW It did not crash with OMV2 loaded - exactly the same hardware configuration)

Once it has crashed, only a power off/on will bring it back - I can't access it through the GUI or TTY into it.

After rebooting the OMV log is cleared, so I can't see any error messages that I can address ?(

Config is:
    • RPI 2B+
    • 2 x external self powered USB hard drives
    • USB Gigabit ethernet adapter
    • OMV 4.1.19-1
    • Linux 4.14.98-v7+

I'm only moderately technical and have very limited Linux knowledge. Can someone help me locate the fault please? Suggestions on where to look for faults....logs to view....tests....?

Thanks in anticipation :thumbsup:
  • New

Hi there, I’m new to the world of OMV and trying to set up a SFTP acc for a friend of mine.
    Being on my lan the service (port 222) works as intended, but connecting from outside my lan is getting me errors.
    Obviously I’m looking into my routers port forwarding rules and has fixed port 222 -> to port 222 on the ip running the server.

But I have no luck in getting connected, do you have some tip where to continue my search for errors? ?(
  • New

Hello All,
    I just achieved the installation of Nextcloud on my OMV, thanks to the 2 great videos (Installation and external access) of Techno Dad Life.
    a thousand times thank you @TechnoDadLife :thumbsup:

Next step, I need to import a lot of Data (more than 100GB) into Nextcloud.
    These data are stored into an USB external Disk drive which is plugged in the OMV server
    The disk is actually mounted, and I created shared folders that are perfectly accessible via SMB protcole from a Windows laptop