How to install Squid Proxy to cache and speed up internet on your network

• Hello Open Media Vault community,

There is a thread for suggestions on what should be made in to a plugin. In this thread I have mentioned that I think Squid Proxy is a good idea, and others agreed however asked for how I set it up so it can be converted in to a plugin.

I would say I'm average skill level in linux, and absolute novice in Open Media Vault, so please excuse my steps below if they seem a bit choppy. I'm certainly happy for your feedback.

Step 1: Gain access to your server
    SSH in to your Open Media Vault server. For me, my server has a local IP of 192.168.1.8, and I'm using Linux Mint on my notebook.
    Type this command in to a terminal window: ssh root@192.168.1.8

Step 2: Download the Squid Proxy software
    Run the following commands;
    Update your repositories: apt-get update
    Install Squid: apt-get install squid3
    Check Squid version: squid3 -v
    Output should be long bu :!: t start with: Squid Cache: Version 3.1.20
    If it says version 2.x.x.x, then you installed the wrong package. remove squid, and install squid3 as per above.

Step 3: Configure the Squid Proxy
    Open the configuration: sudo nano /etc/squid3/squid.conf
    Ctrl+W to search for something.
    Search for 3128 until you find: http_port 3128. Change that port to a port you can remember. I used 5555

Code
    # Squid normally listens to port 3128
    http_port 5555

Find this line: acl CONNECT method CONNECT
    If your local area network uses 192.168.1.x (if not, change the numbers but leave the last as a zero as it's wildkey), add this below: acl mylan src 192.168.1.0/255.255.255.0
    Find this line: http_access allow localhost
    Add below: http_access allow mylan
    Find this line: http_access deny !Safe_ports
    This stops any non-standard ports from working, which is a pain in the ass. Replace it with: #http_access deny !Safe_ports