omv + plex = sad loading

• OMV 2.x

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• omv + plex = sad loading

Hi. I'll try to be quick to the point, but this seems like the best place in these forums to put this. I built a small miniITX box quite awhile ago that I really enjoyed the form factor for. It cost me all of about 200$ in its entirety and it served the purpose of providing my mother with a computer to browse the internet...before she decided to get into a lot of other online activities and multitasking. It became too slow for her so now I have it again to repurpose. I am a techie by profession, I typically manage businesses datacenters full of hardware, hypervisors, and operating systems.

I discovered OMV on my search for an easy to use backup/nas/plex solution, and all the nice things I have to say can be summed up with a WOW!! I'm quite impressed with the easy to use interface, the super easy install, and the out of the box capabilities. I ran into an issue with the installer because I Had too many drives in, after doing research and scratching my head a bunch, I was able to resolve it by only having the ONE drive added that I needed to install on, and then the installer completes just fine. Before I fixed this issue - it would error on the grubloader portion of the install, every time.

I just rebuilt my OMV box, because my raptor drive failed - which may have caused some pain. Currently it's a tiny miniITX case, amd-e350, 4gb of ram, and it has 3 drives in it currently with a 200watt psu or so (came with case, not sure specifics). It has a mirrored 2TB raid for my data, and it has a now-750gb spinning disk drive for my OS (which I'll later rebuild with a drive that is less useful). This OMV+Plex+maybemumble/webserver is really all I wanted out of the box, but I can't get past the Plex part. /Sadness.