How to enable services for users?

• I am rather new to this but I came across a new road block.

I set up the file system and installed the BitTorrent plugin thanks to OMV Extras.

I can use it, and have, and it works fine!

However, when I made an account for my friend and he was able to log in to the OMV web interface, he didn't have BitTorrent under the "services" tab like I do as admin. How can I enable this for him so he can use it? Thanks!

• You can't, is by design.

he can access transmission on port 9091

How do I have him switch his ports in order to do that? Where would he do that exactly?

Im not sure I get the point of a service that my users can't use without jumping through hoops...

What happens when I add other plugins? How is that supposed to work??

• I actually have long thought that a hardcoded admin account is somewhat problematic. What happens if you have more than one person who you want to administer the box? Share the admin password? That doesn't exactly sound like a best practice. I think the lack of a fine grained permissions system in OMV is a pretty major oversight. Not only do you end up with the above problem, but you create a culture of plugins that simply don't cater to non-admin users. I understand that, at this point, adding something like that would be a huge rearchitecting of the system but I feel that it needs to be done at some point.

• So he can access transmission, but when he tries to download something, it works for a little while, then stops under the pretext of "Denied Access" what is this about? In addition, after about 5 min, the services crashes and I have to do a complete server reboot to get it working again. This is hardly a service that is working atm. Im sure it is on my end. What can I do about this?

• Yes that should be correct, I just hope the address 11.11.11.11 is a joke or an "if" only.