Raid 5 says one drive was removed

• Hi. Newbie here.

i have a Raid 5 setup on my OMV NAS, version 1.12 (kralizec), but after moving half way around the world and not accessing the NAS for about 3 months, the RAID 5 says "clean, degraded" and detail says that one of the five disks (/dev/sdf) has been "removed", however it's still in the machine and it IS recognized under S.M.A.R.T. with temperature measurements.

I tried swapping that "removed" disk with another one in the hot bay (switched /dev/sdf with /dev/sdc), and the RAID then recognizes those drives as the opposite of what they were initially, but it still says the /dev/sdf drive has been "removed" I.e., now the drive that was c is now f, and it says it has been removed.

When I click "recover" under the RAID management tab, I do not have a device appear there to choose a recovery.

Anyone know how to best restore the RAID for someone who is VERY illiterate with code?

A separate problem: I forgot my CLI login name and password. Any tips on how to recover it without doing a total reinstall?

• Concerning your last question - this might be some help: http://wiki.openmediavault.org…nge_admin_password_in_CLI

Your RAID problem: I once had several problems too with my RAID (a RAID1) which kept me busy for several months and I couldn't solve. The final solution was to swap the missing HDD (getting a new one from WD). Odly enough the new one was broken too so I almost lost faith in my skills. After swapping that drive again everything is fine now (though I don't use a RAID anymore but rsync my stuff).

Have a look here: Can WD Red 4TB HDD's be used for a self built Server/NAS or only for "real" NAS (QNAP etc.)?

OMV6.x

AMD Ryzen 5 5600G

ASRock B550M Pro4

Crucial DIMM 16GB

Western Digital WD Blue SN570

Seagate IronWolf 8TB/WD Red 8TB

AeroCool CS-102