Mount only the users home folder and make it read only

• Hi,

I am very new to OMV but I really like it so far! I'm trying to setup my FTP Server in a way that the different users can only see their own "home" folder and also have no writing permission. They should be able only to download the files inside. As admin I will provide them files to download.

I have the FTP service up and running, but can only see the general shares I set up for testing. The home folder of the user is not visible at all. I can see the home folder through Samba and the option to "create a home folder for each user" is also active.

I hope someone can help me to figure this out. I would prefer to do it only in the GUI, but if I need to edit some files then please also tell me which tools I need for that and how to edit the files.

Thanks a lot!

• thanks. it is convenient to use the system home folders because they are automatically created but maybe i will use the second solution because i do not need to edit something in the code. if i create a folder "share" and in this folder all the other folders based on the username (share/user1, share/user2 etc)... will the users see all folders (user1, user2) or only the one they have access to?

• my problem is, that i do not see the home folder when connecting to the FTP server. Through windows explorer and Samba i see that the folder exists and i can put some files there, but when i access through filezilla this folder is not there and neither are the files.

How can I mount the users specific home folder? I did not find any setting in the FTP interface. Only in "users" i can activate to automatically create home folders.

• Offizieller Beitrag

my problem is, that i do not see the home folder when connecting to the FTP server. Through windows explorer and Samba i see that the folder exists and i can put some files there, but when i access through filezilla this folder is not there and neither are the files.