New User - Raid and Back Up Help/ Discussion

• Hello all,

I have been reading this forum for a good while now but this is my first post.

First a bit of background. I have lots of experience with desktop computers however this is my first proper foray into servers/ NAS's. I have messed around with FreeNas a little in the past but it downright frightened me with all the ECC, ZFS and "You will lose all your data" mentality of the community. I am hoping that I have been good this year and Santa will bring me a HP ProLiant Microserver Gen8 G1610T. I must first congratulate the creators of OMV and the community as I have done extensive research of many OS's (The usual suspects, Windows, FreeNas, Nas4Free, Amahi, Xpenology, Owncloud, Ubuntu Server etc.) and this is the only one that ticked all of the boxes.

I am hoping to use my Server for the following;

• Back up two windows pc's using rsync
    • Back up a mac (Not too sure how yet, but this isn't so important)
    • Use owncloud to back up various phones, tablets and serve data
    • Stream content using Plex to Roku's and Xbox's
    • Provide usb back up to external drives (Something that many OS's seem to struggle with)

(Please let me know if OMV won't in fact do any of this)

I have a question about back up implementation and what you are using to ensure back up redundancy in your system.

I understand that Raid is a perfectly good redundancy scheme however it is far from a back up, my FreeNas experience makes me want Raid 6 with 6 drives and an off site server back up but this just isn't sensible or feasible. So I am looking into something sensible for a typical home scenario.

I am a strong believe in the 3-2-1 back up principle in that you should have your main data set, an external back up and an offsite back up.