Email Server with openmediavault - what to use best

• Dear Community

After having seen that Gmail does no longer offer free custom Domain Service for gmail I think about using my OMV Server also as an email Server.
    However I wanted to ask what others here are already - succesfull - using.
    I consider using the roundcube plugin or which Looks quite appealing to me use the ox app Suite which i guess i would Need to run in a separate vm.
    I would appreciate any Feedback on what is used in the omv community which also runs stable and provides good search capabilities - best also in Attachements.

• Hello,

I've been making Debian-based mail servers for a couple of years, based on Exim and Courier.

I would like to write an OMV plugin for that role, but I'm new to OMV development (but I know PHP pretty well).

What would be the best way to proceed?

Einmal editiert, zuletzt von mikael () aus folgendem Grund: spelling

• Offizieller Beitrag

I haven't seen very many web servers on the same install as OMV. I think I saw one user using iRedMail. I always had my email server in a VM.

As for an email server plugin, I will have you added to the developer forum. Source code for OMV and native plugins is here and omv-extras plugins here. Plugins are almost all php, sh/bash, and javascript (extjs5.1).

omv 7.0.4-2 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.5 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.10 | compose 7.1.2 | k8s 7.0-6 | cputemp 7.0 | mergerfs 7.0.3

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github

Please try ctrl-shift-R and read this before posting a question.

Please put your OMV system details in your signature.
    Please don't PM for support... Too many PMs!

• Offizieller Beitrag

Thanks, I'll get on it this week-end.

If that turns out well, the next thing I'll need to work on is an Asterisk plugin :)

You are added to the dev forum now.

omv 7.0.4-2 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.5 proxmox kernel