OMV crashing during big file transfers, locking up gui and ssh access

• Hi guys, Noob here so bare with me please :)

Yesterday I installed OMV for the first time, I configured the system to my liking (more or less) and made a shared folder to backup my photos into (a few TiBs of data).
    A minute or so into the transfer (from a windows 10 pro 64bit PC using TeraCopy) the Nas freezes, the network drive is no longer accessible, the gui can't be reached and even ssh is unreachable.

here are the rig's specs:
    Gigabyte GA-B150M-HD3
    Intel Pentium G4400
    G.Skill 8GB DDR3 (run clean 10 memtest cycles)
    WD red 3TB x 4
    An old 1TB seagate
    SanDisk cruzer fit 16GB

I'm using SnapRAID and mergerfs for pooling the data drives, but I ruled out SnapRAID as the cause by trying to transfer files into the simply mounted Seagate (ext4) as well.

can anyone point me into the right direction as to how to isolate the cause and fix this?
    Thanks in advance!

• Offizieller Beitrag

Is OMV installed on the usb stick? If so, do you have openmediavault-flashmemory installed? If not, your usb stick is probably failing. Find a new one or use a rotating drive/ssd.

omv 7.0.4-2 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.5 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.10 | compose 7.1.2 | k8s 7.0-6 | cputemp 7.0 | mergerfs 7.0.3

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github

Please try ctrl-shift-R and read this before posting a question.

Please put your OMV system details in your signature.
    Please don't PM for support... Too many PMs!

• Is OMV installed on the usb stick? If so, do you have openmediavault-flashmemory installed? If not, your usb stick is probably failing. Find a new one or use a rotating drive/ssd.

thanks for the quick response!

OMV is installed on the USB stick (new stick, reformatted and zeroed (dd'ed) it in order to install GRUB correctly), and more importantly - Flash Memory is up and running as well.

any other ideas?
    TIA!