USB boot with HP Proliant Microserver gen 8

• I'm new to OMV and I'm trying to install on HP Proliant MicroServer Gen8 by booting from USB stick. But each time I try I get "no system disk media error" message and boot process stops. I've tried few USB sticks with the same result. I'm sure the stick is fine since I can mount it on my fedora laptop and inspect the content. I don't have CD so USB is ht only option. Any suggestions ?

Tom

P.S.
    I'm thinking about inserting my SSD into my old laptop and booting from CD, installing it there and then transferring the SSD into my HP Microserver. I wonder if that will work?

Tom

• Offizieller Beitrag

How did you write the image to the usb stick? Content doesn't mean the boot sector is ok. You should use dd or win32diskimager.

Yes, you could install on your laptop and then move to the server. You would just have to run omv-firstaid after booting on the server the first time to get your networking set.

omv 7.0-32 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.5 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.9 | compose 7.0.9 | cputemp 7.0 | mergerfs 7.0.3

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github

Please try ctrl-shift-R and read this before posting a question.

Please put your OMV system details in your signature.
    Please don't PM for support... Too many PMs!

• I know it's going to sound crazy but try to boot your gen8 and wait a few seconds before inserting your usb (let's say 8 seconds).

Then, when you see the boot menu, press F11 & F3 to boot from USB.

I had issues with USB boot too on GEN 8.

• I also had several issues when starting with OMV on HP mS gen8.
    What seems mandatory to me is: the booting USB stick with the installation software should have 4 GiB. I failed using an 2 GiB stick. And the booting stick should be attached to one of the USB-2.0 ports in the back.
    An empty system stick (8 GiB or more) or SSD to be placed inside.