"Something wicked happened resolving 'packages.openmediavault.org:http

• OMV 2.x

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• "Something wicked happened resolving 'packages.openmediavault.org:http

Hi, I am new to OMV.

I tried apt-get update and get the error: "Something wicked happened resolving 'packages.openmediavault.org:http' (-5 - No address associated with hostname)"

In another thread I read to check with "ping -c4 google.com". I get "ping: unknown host google.com".

I have a router cascade in my network because I offer a seperate network for another flat. DHCP is working, I receive an IP from the DHCP router. I wrote the wrong IP from another router) in the DNS field, first. I now entered the right one and applied the settings, but it is still not working.

I suspect there might be a problem with the repo address but this repo is not in the /etc/apt/sources.list

Do I have to change it somewhere else?

Any help?

I use OMV 2.2.2

Cheers,
      Ben
    • This is a DNS issue. Try entering 8.8.8.8 in the dns field and try it.
      omv 4.1.6 arrakis | 64 bit | 4.16 backports kernel | omvextrasorg 4.1.6
      omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github.com/OpenMediaVault-Plugin-Developers

Please read this before posting a question.
      Please don't PM for support... Too many PMs!
    • Thanks, I put

Source Code

1. 8.8.8.8
      in the DNS-field but now if I try to execute

Source Code

1. apt-get update
      it cannot get the lock for

Source Code

1. /var/lib/apt/lists/
      . I had this issue several times now after chaning stuff in the web GUI.

Anyhow, the ping still does not find the host

Source Code

1. google.com

Are you shure this is the right input for the DNS-Server-field? Maybe I have to put my main router in there and then 8.8.8.8 into the next one?
    • It should work if your network is working correctly. The apt lock is because OMV is trying to self update.