We need your help to improve the SMART support of Areca RAID contollers in OMV.

• Hi there,

can provide some ARECA-Controllers based work, since i have some ;)

Current: ARC-1120, ARC-1130, ARC-1220, ARC-18xx

If you need some special tasks, please contact me.

Best regards,
    Sc0rp

• Have you submitted your information in the bugtracker?

• @votdev :

Problem is sort of solved:
    udev rule assigned as number 10 with the following content:

Code
    SUBSYSTEMS=="scsi", ATTRS{vendor}=="Areca   ", SYMLINK+="areca"

and then the following in the smartd.conf, the rest is commented out in standard smartd.conf:
    note: i have 16 port areca 1260ML raidcard in JBOD mode with disks in port 1-8. The Defaul line defines type of testing, the Udev code above creates the appropriate short file (referred to as /dev/sgx in smartmontools) as debian changes the /dev/sgx when adding/removing drives

• Re,

since i'm not an developer even a programmer at all - i'll repeat myself:

Nope, cause i'm to stupid

I can only provide the plattform/hardware ... sry anyway ... therefore i wrote:

If you need some special tasks, please contact me.

Since i have the "Test-NAS" build, which can be (mis-) used for any testing tasks (currently at OMV 4.x), i'm able to test whatever you want, but i need the instructions ...

Sc0rp

• For this issue i will only accept a GIT pull request which implements the feature above completely. It must be tested and should not break existing functionality. After that we will see if it goes into master.

I have this setup currently working in Debian stretch. And I do assume that this way of configuring smartd.conf will work for all raidcontrollers supported by Smartmontools. ( ref: https://www.smartmontools.org/…upported_RAID-Controllers)

To fix I need to know if Smartd.conf file is available for editing or locked/controlled from another file.