127.0.0.1 ?

• Hi total NEWBIE here to OMV and I'm stuck.

I can install the latest OMV and it connects to the internet and downloads Derbian, etc.
    After installation and reboot.......nothing.
    I've run ifconfig in "root" and get something about "127.0.0.1".
    I put this in my web browser to try to access OMV and I get nothing.

What am I doing wrong please?

I've tried to find out how you can connect to VPN's with windows 10 but it gives little help to a wally like me. :(

• Offizieller Beitrag

Probably Omv is not recognizing your network card.
    what happens if you type ifconfig eth0 up

can you post here your motherboard brand/model in case the network card is built in.

• Hi Frank,

First of all, you understand that this is a NAS device, and that it's purpose is to be managed from another device, yes?

• Is your device physically attached to your network, or are you attempting to connect wirelessly?
    • Could you please provide details on your motherboard and/or network devices (If seperate from the motherboard)?
    • If your system came pre-built, could you provide the manufacturer and model, or service tag?

We need to know if your system has detected your network interfaces, and whether they've been setup.

Could you please provide the output of the following commands?
    (It might be best to drop these into pastebin, as dmesg in particular will be quite large)

Code
    dmesg
    ifconfig |grep "^[[:alnum:]]" -A1
    cat /proc/net/dev
    cat /proc/net/wireless
    route -n
  • Thanks for replies.

I understand that NAS connects to a Remote computer. ie NAS in bedroom and computer in front room.

I'm using my second computer with a wifi card for connection to connect via a Sky Hub to my front room computer.

OMV finds the wifi card and downloads as it installs but when it comes to actually using OMV .... nothing.

I've checked with ifconfig and there isn't an Ip Address for the card, only a "loopback" 127.0.0.1.