Help Setting up 802.3ad

• Hi,

I am fairly new to OMW so please be gentle. I have successfully installed OMV onto a spare PC I had lying around with a HP NC360T Dual NIC. OMV detects both ports as eth0 and eth1. Currently using eth0 with eth1 disabled. The OMV box is connected to a Cisco 3750 and would like to use both ports on the OMV box as 802.3ad. I am somewhat familiar with Cisco stuff but here is my configuration on the 3750.

interface Port-channel2
    description <--OMV-->
    switchport trunk encapsulation dot1q
    switchport trunk native vlan 106
    switchport mode trunk

interface GigabitEthernet1/0/11
    description <--Port Channel 2-->
    switchport mode trunk
    channel-group 2 mode passive

interface GigabitEthernet1/0/12
    description <--Port Channel 2-->
    switchport mode trunk
    channel-group 2 mode active

interface Vlan106
    description <--OMV-->
    ip address 10.0.106.1 255.255.255.0
    ip helper-address 10.0.0.1

---End---
    OMV IP Address = 10.0.106.2

With both eth0 and eth1 enabled I am unable create a bond. With eth1 disabled I am able to select eth1 but not eth0, probably because eth0 is in use.

I am assuming this would probably need to be done via cli which I am not comfortable with. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

• Hi,

and you're right, bonding have to occure before booting the eth's ... anyway, you have to set both Cisco-Interfaces to "channel-group 2 mode passive".
    So, i think, you have to edit the network configuration directly, since the correct setup path will down your the in use (no more WebGUI)

I had running 802.3ad on my Cisco 3750 too, but my old serverboard nic's didn't scaled well over samba (cifs), so i'll currently wait for 10G :P

Sc0rp

EDIT: anyway, i can guide you through the configuration process, as long you have console access

• Hello i think i passed the same problem than you but i could config the bonding:

If i am not wrong:

eth0 - your actual omv ip
    eh1 - disabled