physical HDDs not aviable

• Hello to the OMV community!

At first... this is my first project with OMV... so maybe thats the reason that my questions are a litte bit more stupid than the other :D
    My OMV runs on a DELL PowerEdge FS12-NV7. The Controller is a 3ware 9650SE-12ML.

1 RAID 1 array with two 1TB SATA
    The other 6x 8TB Seagate Archive HDDs are not configured in a array by the controler. I will try to use the software raid.

But my problem is... i can not see the 6x 8TB HDDs... they are aviable in the controller-BIOS, but not for OMV....

Where is the missing link? What have i forgot?!

P.S. The physical configuration is strange. Where are the terminals 4 to 7?!. I know that.
    I can not use the middle connector on the controller as use for backplane connector with 90-degree rotation and the central covering by a cable.

OMV 5.x / HP DL360 gen8 , 2x HP Storrage Array 3.5" with 36x 8TB Seagate Archive RAID 6

2 Mal editiert, zuletzt von frauhansen ()

• Offizieller Beitrag

Install the backports kernel. There is a button to install it in omv-extras Kernel tab.

omv 7.0.4-2 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.5 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.10 | compose 7.1.2 | k8s 7.0-6 | cputemp 7.0 | mergerfs 7.0.3

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github

Please try ctrl-shift-R and read this before posting a question.

Please put your OMV system details in your signature.
    Please don't PM for support... Too many PMs!

• 8o

Just for a test.... i create a poor raid 0 out of the 6x 8TB HDDs.... and what is the resault?

Can not beleve it!

ryecoaaron schrieb:
    Install the backports kernel. There is a button to install it in omv-extras Kernel tab.

Will try this right now...
    [/quote]

OMV 5.x / HP DL360 gen8 , 2x HP Storrage Array 3.5" with 36x 8TB Seagate Archive RAID 6

• Offizieller Beitrag

Are you sure that raid card supports 8tb drives? Maybe it needs a bios update?