Tutorial OMV 0.4 or 0.5 - howto join windows 2008R2 active directory

• Hi

I was using debian GNU/Linux to manage my files with RAID mirroring. I discovered OMV a few month ago and I replaced my debian distro. Migrating my RAID array was a piece of cake despite I'm not an expert about lots of thing about linux.

I'm using both windows and linux at home and I wanted to manage all my computers having the best of both worlds. I decided to create a howto to make OMV a domain member.

I want to share my work to the community. I wish that in a near future, OMV will be able to natively join a Active Directory domain thanks to a dedicated plugin.

The following configuration has beed designed to host domain users home directories, and let users to access their home with both SSH and SMB/CIFS.

Before posting today, I found some tips to make OMV a domain member here : http://bugtracker.openmediavault.org/view.php?id=487

Feel free to tell me anything which may improve this howto.

EDIT : new tutorial with NFS support here (OMV 0.4 or 0.5) : http://forums.openmediavault.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=2648

EDIT : read the same tutorial for OMV 1.0 : Tutorial OMV 1.0 - how to join an Windows 2008 R2 domain

1 - LAB description

1 ESXi 5 host with some virtual machines :
    1 windows 2008 R2 ad domain controller
    1 OpenMediaVault 0.4.x
    1 windows 7 64 bits member of the 2008 R2 domain

the domain controller has DNS and DHCP roles
    Openmediavault has 1 ethernet interface configured with DHCP

1.1 - Settings
    Domain is : domain.local
    windows 2008R2 hostname : srv-dc-01
    omv hostname : omv

1.2 - customizations or what you need to adapt to YOUR needs
    a way to synchronize time between your DC, your OMV server and your domain member computers
    the domain name (and therefore the workgroup)
    the directory containing homedirs (probably something line /media/30fcb748-ad1e-4228-af2f-951e8e7b56df/YOURWORKGRP)

2 - On OpenMediaVault

2.1 - Check IP configuration