Mirroring with existing drives

• Hi Folks,

I'm a newbie regarding OMV, so my apologies if this question has been discussed earlier, I have searched and found nothing.

I wanna build a small (and maybe slow) NAS with a Raspi and 2 HD's, which are in RAID1 config. I have the disks (they are ext4 formatted), and there is a vast amount of data on one of it.

Is there a way to preserve the data, say build the RAID1 with one (the empty) HD, copy the data over to this first HD in the incomplete RAID1 (with rsync preferably), and then afterwards add the 2nd HD to the RAID and let the rebuild do it's work ?

Thanks in advance

• Offizieller Beitrag

Do you need a real time mirror? Why not have rsync mirror the two drives hourly? Then you could continue to use the current filesystems.

omv 7.0.4-2 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.5 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.10 | compose 7.1.2 | k8s 7.0-6 | cputemp 7.0 | mergerfs 7.0.3

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github

Please try ctrl-shift-R and read this before posting a question.

Please put your OMV system details in your signature.
    Please don't PM for support... Too many PMs!

• Hi,

nice idea. But as soon as directory structures change or files are removed or at least moved the rsync method is not straighforward anymore.

Is it possible as outlined in my first post ?

Thanks in advance

• Offizieller Beitrag

Why would directory structure changes or files removed make a difference? That is exactly what the delete flag does. Still very straightforward. I wouldn't recommend it unless it was a comparable alternative to mirroring.

Yes, it is possible with something called raider. No, it is not possible from the web interface and I don't recommend it especially without a backup.

omv 7.0.4-2 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.5 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.10 | compose 7.1.2 | k8s 7.0-6 | cputemp 7.0 | mergerfs 7.0.3