Windows Home Server functionality in OMV

• I'm a newbie with a Windows & Windows Home Server background, trying to learn all of this new language. Obviously, most folks in this forum speak Linux-ese, but very little English :) .

I know from hours of perusing this forum that what I am about to say is very old hat, but here goes.

I have run Windows Home Server since 2007 on an HP MediaSmart server. As of October 1, 2016 that server died. I have no intention of going back to any Microsoft-based server solution so they can stick it to my checkbook X( . So after some Googling I have come to looking at either FreeNAS or OMV for a replacement, to put on my new Dell T20 PowerEdge. But I really like the simplicity that WHS gave me for: 1) client backups on a scheduled basis and sensing when clients were available, or warning me that they hadn't been backed up after a certain amount of time; 2) file storage and sharing, user permissions, etc. (duh); 3) alerting me to server issues that might affect the network; 4) remote access to get to my files over the web; and 5) attaching a USB external backup drive (that has successfully saved all of my files from the server crash).

I can’t find any "normal" language on either the FreeNAS nor this OMV site that can answer these simple questions. I can only assume that what I’m reading answers a couple of things (like #2 and #4) but all the developer jargon has me confused and I can’t tell if my five things above, simple as they seem, are all answered.

It looks like OMV beats out FreeNAS, but I can’t tell if I get all the stated functionality I addressed.

Any help out there for my simple mind?

• Offizieller Beitrag

It is difficult to replicate some of those features since OMV isn't windows. I've never used Windows Home Server but I will try to answer...