How to check the integrity of Hard drives? Seatools?

• Hi all,

I have a pair of 6TB WD Reds on the way ( :D ) but am keen to run diagnostics before using them.

Is there a way of running diagnostics such as SeaTools from OMV? Is a Plugin available? Is it possible to access a Linux based OS so that I may run SeaTools? Is it possible to install a virtual machine on my OMV box and then run Seatools from there to check the hard drives?

As you can prob tell from my questions - I am very new to Linux and NAS. Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks

NAS OMV 3.0.59 Rig: DFI Lanparty nForce4 SLI-DR | Opteron 165 Dual Core (no overclock) | 4GB Corsair Non-ECC DDR400 RAM | OMV3: 1x100GB IDE | Data: 2x 250GB WD 7200rpm, 2x 3TB WD Red, 1x 4TB Samsung 5400rpm

• Never used SeaTools, but you can run SMART tests from GUI, under "Storage"->"S.M.A.R.T."

You can also test every block of an unmounted disk using badblocks -s -n -v /dev/sdX in command line.

OMV 4.1 on Debian 10 @ HP Microserver gen8 [2x 256GB SSD ZFS mirror on root + 3x 8TB ZFS raidz1 pool]

• there is a similar post somewhere here already discussing this topic. BUT

"diego" > Seatools is a set of utilities from Seagate. they are intended mostly to use on Seagate drives but can be used on most other drives safely and productively. however the resulted information when used on drives other than seagate own, is kind of iffy and not 100% reliable. I would use it for generic broad troubleshooting, but would seek a second opinion most of the time.

as mentioned before here is the list of tools you can use to test burnin hdd, in no particular order:

S.M.A.R.T

badblocks

dd (yes you can do some testing with it but very very very carefully )

bonnie++

hdparm

HDAT2

Spinrite

NEVER MIND the script, it is not working on anything but unraid.
    if some one know hot to change it to make it more generic would like to see the results :)