Newbie questions re/ drive mount

• Hi, all, and thanks in advance for any help. Please be patient and gentle; I'm extremely new to Linux in general and don't understand most of the acronyms and lingo.

I've successfully installed OMV v3.01.51(Erasmus) on a Pi3 (Armv7 Processor rev4(v7), kernel linux 4.4.30 -47+, attached a 2tb USB HD, and configured it so I can access the drive and various directories, save files to and from it from a Win 7 laptop, and stream audio files from it with RuneAudio (a quality audio player based on Arch Linux) on another Pi3. For you guys, that's probably nothing. For me, it was like running a mental marathon, but I enjoyed the process.

A couple questions, all of which I'm pretty sure are really stupid, but hey, gotta keep learnin'..

1. Saving files to the OMV NAS pi is incredibly slow.. about 2mb/s. Took six minutes to transfer one hires audio file. Rather than go through that torture, I'd like to just remove the usb HD attached to the OMV pi, hook it up to my laptop where my media files currently reside and do the transfer, then remount it on the OMV pi. The directories necessary have already been created using the OMV web GUI. Can I simply unmount the drive w/in OMV, remove it, hook it up to my laptop. transfer the appropriate files to the appropriate directories, then remount it? I'm asking before trying this because getting the thing setup and working was so difficult for me that, now that it's working, I don't want to mess anything up. I confess I don't really understand what I did to get it working; it took many tries.

2. IS a 2mb/s transfer rate typical, from a Win7 laptop on a wireless 802.11g to a Pi3 attached to a router via cable?