@eaDir folder in every shares directories. How to remove?

    • OMV 3.x (stable)
    • Resolved

    This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

    • @eaDir folder in every shares directories. How to remove?

      I noticed that there are @eaDir directories listed in every folder on all of my shares. When I google the @eaDir I get lots of links for how to remove and prevent them for synology dsm's. Is there a way to stop them from being created and to delete them on OMV 3?

      I am running an ssd for my boot drive and 2 4tb drives which hold the shares. I am not running a raid configuration, just SMB/CIFFS, nzbget and sonar plugins and ssh.

      What I found on the synology forums is that it is an indexing script/service.

      -------copied text from synology forum
      To stop the thumb service from creating the @eaDir directories, SSH into your NAS and stop the daemon. This will keep new directories from being created until the next boot.

      /usr/syno/bin/synomkthumb -stop
      Next, to remove the service from starting up when rebooting, delete the script:
      rm /usr/syno/etc.defaults/rc.d/S77synomkthumbd.sh---- end copied texthow do I accomplish this in OMV?
    • No I do not have a synology nas, the only devices that connect to the shares are an Apple TV 4, a windows 10 computer, and every now and again a mac laptop, but not often and if I do use the mac laptop I do not go into every directory that the @eadir is located in. And I think you just helped me answer my own question. Now I am thinking that it might be the indexing of the mac scanning the shares.
    • Thats what it was. and just for completion of the thread here is how I fixed the problem. THANK YOU for pointing me in the right direction.

      How to Prevent .DS_Store File Creation

      DS_Store files store folder level metadata information (such as icon placement and background pictures) for Mac OS X to understand, this is fine and dandy and you’re likely to never even notice if you’re a bunch of Macs working together. Unfortunately, these .DS_Store files can be really pesky in a multi-platform network environment, they can basically just lead to unnecessary filesystem clutter that Windows & Linux users receive no benefit from.
      he following command string exactly:

      defaults write com.apple.desktopservices DSDontWriteNetworkStores true

      Reboot the Mac for changes to take full effect (some report that killing the Finder is sufficient, but your mileage may vary).

      This disables the creation of .DS_Store files for the user account the command was executed on. You can make this change to all user accounts manually by executing the same command under their login, or you can copy modified com.apple.desktopservices.plist file to the ~/Library/Preferences folder of each other user account.

      Of course it’s not just Mac OS X that create files that are obnoxious for cross-platformers. The Windows equivalent to the DS_Store file is Thumbs.db, and if you’re a Mac in a largely Windows network, you’ll probably be running into these all the time. You can easily delete Thumbs.db files in Mac OS X by using Spotlight.

      Enable DS_Store File Creation on Network Volumes
      To re-enable the creation of .ds_store files, simply change the ‘true’ to ‘false’ in the defaults command string:

      defaults write com.apple.desktopservices DSDontWriteNetworkStores false

      You will want to reboot the Mac and reconnect network shares for the changes to take full effect.