Error trying to share btrfs subvolumes with '@' prefix in their names using NFS add shares GUI

• I've been using btrfs for a few years and this week decided to make a dedicated NAS instead of relying on my PC. Installation of Debian and OMV went smoothly and I transplanted my data disks from my PC into my new (as new as you can get on freecycle and ebay for a £25 outlay :/ ) NAS. A few clicks and by btrfs RAID1 mirror was back.

My NAS box is running OMV 3.0.59 erasmus, 64-bit AMD 4.7.0 backport kernel and omvextrasorg 3.4.15. (I'm using the 4.7 kernel because I use btrfs on my disks and want to use the most recent btrfs-progs that is currently available)

I hit a snag when I tried to setup NFS shares for my various subvolumes which I have named using the semi-adopted convention of using an '@' symbol to prefix subvolume names to make it easy to distinguish subvolumes from directories at a glance, e.g. subvolume '@photos' vs a directory, e.g. 'Maldives_XMAS_2017'. However, it is impossible to share the subvolumes directly because of the '@' symbol in their names. As a workaround I have created symlinks to my subvolumes for now.

The recreate the problem simply create a subvolume called '@test' then try to share it using OMV's NFS add share GUI which fails with:

The problem does not occur when I dont use the '@' symbol in the subvolume name, e.g. test2 created with 'btrfs sub cre test2' can be shared without issue. Creating a symlink 'ln -s @test test3' and sharing the 'test3' symlink also works without problem.

Is this actually a bug in OMV or am I doing something wrong :?: .

Thanks in advance,
    Sophie x

• there is maybe a restriction pattern in the datamodels conf file not sure. Also seeing your thread I recall someone else's mentioned this problem before....not sure.

Cc @votdev

Please open a bug report. I've looked into the code, but the regex was a little bit complicated to understand (without a comment ?( ), so i need to have a deeper look into it.