Xenserver and OVM S.M.A.R.T. behaviour

• Hello everybody, I am new to OMV, as I recently installed a para-virtualized Debian OS and then OMV on top of it.
    So far so good, I even did a PCI pass-throught for the data HDD and everything runs smoothly, except that the virtual xenserver-managed main disk (/dev/xvda) is seen as an HDD capable of S.M.A.R.T. stuff, and I am getting errors in the console.

The result is that every time I go in the SMART section of OMV, a "smartctl" command is issued on this disk (which is a virtual disk, so it should not be capable of doing SMART) and this error is returned:

Code
    /dev/xvda: Unable to detect device type
    Please specify device type with the -d option.

Error #0:
    exception 'OMV\ExecException' with message 'Failed to execute command 'export PATH=/bin:/sbin:/usr/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/local/sbin; export LANG=C; smartctl -x '/dev/xvda' 2>&1': smartctl 6.4 2014-10-07 r4002 [x86_64-linux-3.16.0-4-amd64] (local build)
    Copyright (C) 2002-14, Bruce Allen, Christian Franke, www.smartmontools.org

The only solution I was able to find is to manually modify the /usr/share/php/openmediavault/system/storage/backend/hdd.inc file, so that in the two regexps there, the "xvda" is ignored: a workaround, I know. This made disappear the /dev/xvda device from the SMART section and I was able to do SMART stuff on the actual SATA hdd I passed-through.

I am wondering which is the right solution I should follow: how can I tell OMV that /dev/xvda is a virtual and not a SMART-capable HDD?
    Does anybody know?

Thank you, kind regards,
    Marco

• Offizieller Beitrag

File a bug report here

omv 7.0.5-1 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.8 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.13 | compose 7.1.4 | k8s 7.1.0-3 | cputemp 7.0.1 | mergerfs 7.0.4

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github - changelogs

Please try ctrl-shift-R and read this before posting a question.