Add external Hard Drives

• Hi everyone!

I hope this is the right forum to post my question, if not, sorry in advance.

So, what brings me here is my incapability to add or view a hard drive I have connected to the same connection as OMV. The drives in question belong to a Seagate Personal Cloud 4TB (2 Bay) and I want to be able to see them and manage my files in there, through OMV.
    I've been searching everywhere for a solution to my problem, not only in here but google as well, but so far I've not been able to find something that could work. :/ Maybe I'm missing something simple, or maybe something's left to do (this is my first time working with OMV), but I just don't know where to go or where to look to solve this.

After the installation of OMV is done, what should I do to be able to detect those drives?

Thank you.

• Offizieller Beitrag

Your Seagate Personal Cloud is a NAS just like OMV. You can't manage the drives from OMV unless you connect them directly to the OMV system. You could create samba/nfs/ftp shares on the Seagate and mount those in OMV with the remotemount plugin.

omv 7.0.4-2 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.5 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.10 | compose 7.1.2 | k8s 7.0-6 | cputemp 7.0 | mergerfs 7.0.3

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github

Please try ctrl-shift-R and read this before posting a question.

Please put your OMV system details in your signature.
    Please don't PM for support... Too many PMs!

• Offizieller Beitrag

What about iSCSI?

There is no way to use iscsi in the OMV web interface.

omv 7.0.4-2 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.5 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.10 | compose 7.1.2 | k8s 7.0-6 | cputemp 7.0 | mergerfs 7.0.3

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github

Please try ctrl-shift-R and read this before posting a question.

Please put your OMV system details in your signature.
    Please don't PM for support... Too many PMs!