100TB build - Help!

• Hi Guys!

i have been using OMV 2.2 for many of builds (over 10), but you can still call me a beginner.
    Now i got a new project for a media house, they require

1. 100TB and grow upto 250TB as required.
    2. 60-100 users simultaneously moving video files (VFX) to work on Nuke Studio
    3. Require minimum transfer speed of 200 MB/s -- No bottlenecks (MAIN CONFUSION)

I thought of using the below specification:

Xeon E3 v1220 V3 Quad Core - 3.1GHz
    8GB GB ECC RAM
    LSI MegaRAID 9240-8i -- ( For RAID 5)
    Norco 3U 16 Bays
    12 x 8TB Segate Enterpise HDD or WD SE -- Not sure yet, have to check with the vendor.
    10Gtek Intel 82599ES NIC X520-DA2 -- Please suggest other options for best in performance.

Any suggestion? where do I need to make any changes?

• Im no expert but form what Ive been reading everywhere, that setup and drives are dangerous as hell.

From your specs you look to want to do Raid 5 on 12 8TB Drives? That is asking for a massive data lost.
    To start you are planning to do a Raid 5 of 12 drives, all good that you get around 92% usable space that is awesome, but you get a lot of failure points as well. I would use AT LEAST a Raid 6 on that setup.

On top of the fact that Raid 5 is considered to be outdated for the last 3 to 4 years, if it happens for a drive to fail, the risk of getting a unrecoverable read error from one of the drives is fairly high with so many drives and gigantic drives.

Just a small article about URE
    http://www.raidtips.com/raid5-ure.aspx

And a good blog post about it:
    https://standalone-sysadmin.co…e-b06d9b01ddb3#.2h4gm3j9q

So looking at the drives you were considering, I looked into Seagate Entreprise NAS, Seagate Enterprise Helium, WD Gold, an they all have a Max URE of 1 sector per 10^15. Basically, on a SINGLE drive, worst case scenario it will happen once every 1000TB read.