Extremely slow HD speeds

• Hi, OMV and linux noob here, (but long IT nerdery experience). I put together an OMV box using the latest stable OMV 2 on an HP proliant server. I have two identical WD Red NAS hard drives mounted and used in a grey hole pool (Disk A is set up as the landing zone for the shares). Performance from disk B is perfectly adequate but read and write from disk A is extremely poor. I first noticed very slow writes to the samba shares but then noticed intermittent issues with playing movies on Plex. Some movies (which I later worked out are saved on disk A by greyhole) won't play more than a few seconds, others (stored on disk B) play fine.

I have followed the diagnostics from the sticky post at the top of this forum and everything looks ok until I get to the performance tests:

Code
    root@Beast:~# dd conv=fdatasync if=/dev/mapper/sda1-sda1 of=/tmp/test.img bs=1G count=3
    3+0 records in
    3+0 records out
    3221225472 bytes (3.2 GB) copied, 825.229 s, 3.9 MB/s

root@Beast:~# dd if=/dev/mapper/sda1-sda1 of=/dev/null bs=1G count=3
    3+0 records in
    3+0 records out
    3221225472 bytes (3.2 GB) copied, 650.054 s, 5.0 MB/s

The same tests on disk B look fine:

Code
    root@Beast:~# dd conv=fdatasync if=/dev/mapper/sdb1-sdb1 of=/tmp/test.img bs=1G count=3
    3+0 records in
    3+0 records out
    3221225472 bytes (3.2 GB) copied, 29.2664 s, 110 MB/s
    root@Beast:~# dd if=/dev/mapper/sdb1-sdb1 of=/dev/null bs=1G count=3
    3+0 records in
    3+0 records out
    3221225472 bytes (3.2 GB) copied, 21.3882 s, 151 MB/s

I also ran the following:

Code
    root@Beast:~# sudo hdparm -Tt /dev/mapper/sda1-sda1

/dev/mapper/sda1-sda1:
     Timing cached reads:     2 MB in 18.79 seconds = 108.99 kB/sec
     Timing buffered disk reads:   2 MB in 15.69 seconds = 130.50 kB/sec

As you can see, not very good numbers. For the record, the identical drive B shows the following:

Code
    root@Beast:~# sudo hdparm -Tt /dev/mapper/sdb1-sdb1