Newcomer trying to figure things out

• Hi,

Im totally new to omv and so far I'm loving the experience. Im so so linux savvy (only been on linux in general a few month) but learning every day. I was hoping to find some help with configuring a few things.

First I was told that php7 isn't available on omv (till v4) and if I wanted it, I should use docker. Now I checked docker out and installed the omv plugin but after pulling the image via the plugin, I'm a bit confused on what to do next. there is a run image button which seems to do the same thing as create container but I dont know what options I need to put. If I could use the native php in omv, I would , I just dont know how the apps that need it will react (if they are still compatible with php5.6)

Since I'm talking about docker, should I use it for sonnar and raddar? or are the omv plugins stay up to date. I still have my db and config files for those apps and would like to use them to avoid having to reconfigure..is this possible?

Then there is nginx, I have a bunch of conf files I would want to use but I dont see how I can import them in the current interface of the nginx plugin.

Lots of the apps I want to use are in docker and some have omv plugins, is there advantages going with either or? like I would need mariadb and plex and syncthing...etc

Anyways I think that is it for now...still poking around :)

• Why do you need php7 ?

Docker is for running applications, I wouldn't use it just for php. You set up a docker container for the actual end application that you need so that you don't have to worry about dependency versions. For a beginner, the best is to download the container images from hub.docker.com.

For Sonarr and Radarr, you can use the OMV plugins. Those applications update themselves.