Correct Read/Write permissions on NAS (Newbie)

• Dear OMV users,

I am currently running a BananaPi with armbian and OMV, which I want to use as NAS.

There are two devices attached to it:
    - USB Stick
    - External HDD (via USB)

I managed to set up the smb share and want to access it via my linux desktop computer. Unfortunately, I cannot access all the files and directories on the External HDD. On the USB-Stick, however, everything works fine. Since I am no expert in linux rights management, I hope some experienced users can give me some feedback on my setup.

Checking the smbshare on my NAS-System:

Source Code
    Edit Source Code

• ls -l /srv
    • drwxrwxrwx 1 root root 4096 May 10 22:29 dev-disk-by-id-usb-General_USB_Flash_Disk_01070000000000E4-0-0-part1
    • drwxrwsrwx 13 MyUser2 users 4096 May 10 23:25 dev-disk-by-label-NAS

So I think the problem lies here. My external HDD belongs to MyUser2, whereas the USB Stick belongs to root. I created both shares using the webgui, so I dont see my mistake here.

----------------------------

NAS-System: ARMBIAN 5.25 stable Debian GNU/Linux 8 (jessie) 4.9.7-sunxi

root
    MyUser1 (do I still need a dedicated user here? If I want to make updates to debian vie ssh I could use root for that. Otherwise I leave the system as it is anyway)

OMV 3.0.74 (running on NAS-System):
    admin (for weblogin only)
    ShareUser1 (created via webgui, the only user allowed to access the NAS share)

Desktop-Computer:
    root
    MyUser2

• You were right! Some folders on the external HDD do only have access for myUser2 (=the user of my desktop computer):

myUser2 (group=myUser2)

Code
    drwx------  8 myUser2 myUser2      4096 Sep 18  2016 TestFolder

This makes sense, because I moved the files and folders onto my external HDD using my Desktop computer via USB. So after doing

Code
    chmod -R ugo+rw ./