Yet another DIY NAS created from scrap

• Creating NAS was going on my head for a long time, and I finally created one after reading yet another Synlogy unit review :)

I already had an array of three 2TB hard drives configured in RAID5 which I have been using since 2012. I think that main reason was the noise - as I have only Noctua fans spinning consantly in my PC @ low RPM, and rest of components are semi-passively cooled, three 7200.14 Barracudas were the only noise source.

As currently I am more involved in cars than PC's, I wanted to spend as little money as I can. I have started with my spare PC which consisted of:
    Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 3,8GHz 1,32V
    Asus P5Q-E
    4x2GB DDR2
    2x SSD 128GB
    WD Blue 1TB
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Ti
    Corsair CX750M
    Windows 10

Not very energy efficent machine - Fermi and old, overclocked CPU :) I was using it for casual gaming in my home when I was living in another district, but I finally moved in again and it was just waiting for better days. I didn't measured power consumption, as first thing I have done was to change GPU to Radeon HD5450, remove HDD and make CPU run at stock. I ended up with 70W, and it was without any HDDs!

Next thing that came to my mind was motherboard. I have found that another mobo I have (Gigabyte GA-P35-DS4) uses few watts less during idle, so I swapped it immediately. I also modified BIOS to update veeery old Intel RST (8.9.x I think) to little more recent, which accepts bigger HDDs (11.6) and mobo was ready to go. Another bonus was that it can set lover CPU voltage than previous Asus (0,7V instead of 0,85V).