Help with mapping an OMV shared folder to my Mac

• Hi,

I'm new to the world of OMV and have got it installed on a Raspberry Pi.
    I've added a 1tb USB hard drive that is formatted as EXT4 and shows up in OMV.

Ive made a shared folder.

Now I would like to access this folder on my Macbook. How do I do this?

I thought it was simply a case of enabling smb but that didnt work. Then I installed a plugin to get Apple Filing. That hasnt worked either.
    I understand that you have to go in to those sections, (SMB or Apple Filing) and choose your shared folder. I've done that.

Now where am I going wrong?

I tried going to my mac and typing smb://ip-address/my_shared_folder

That has not worked.

I'm using a fixed IP address.

Can anyone tell me what Im doing wrong or if there is a permission Im not setting properly or anything?

Many thanks for your help. It is much appreciated,

Tim.

• Thankyou for therquick reply.

I'm sure I've tried the smb//ipaddressalreasy but will give it another go.

I was looking in priveleges. Do I need to select the user as in my user that is using my Macbook right now?
    At the moment it is just set as Pi as the user.

I do notice that in Shared in Finder I see Raspberry Pi and also RaspberryPiSMB or something similar.
    But when I click on them nothing connects.

Sorry if my questions are dumb. Im having a really busy week and very tired.

Thankyou for your help.

My goal is to be able to map this drive that has my media files to all my devices, starting with my Macbook.

• In finder OS X use cmd+k, in the window that pops type smb://ipaddress

Only out of curiousity: Why does an OMV forum moderator encourages macOS users to rely on SMB? AFAIK OMV does neither ship with the necessary Samba version, nor the necessary modules stacked in the correct order and configuration bits or am I'm wrong?

For some details please refer to: https://bugs.pcbsd.org/issues/5904

• Offizieller Beitrag