MySQL installation issues on OMV 3.0.77

• According to the MySQL plugin description, I should be able to specify a share for databases. If you look at the screen shot, there isn't any part that allows me to specify a share. As I've searched online, the option to specify a share shows for everybody else at the bottom of that page.

Please forgive me as I have been tinkering with Raspberry Pi's for just a few months and am very new to OMV. How do I get this to install correctly?

Thanks

• The MySQL database content is stored at /var/lib/mysql on the same partition as the operating system, and since OpenMediaVault does not allow you to create shares that are on the same partition as the OS, this is not possible. If you want to create a share from which you can access your MySQL database content, you will need to customize where the data is stored using the "Extra Options" box so that it is stored on a different partition or disk and then create share to it.

May I ask why you want to create a share to access your MySQL data? Having direct access to the database files is really not all that useful.

• May I ask why you want to create a share to access your MySQL data? Having direct access to the database files is really not all that useful.

Maybe I'm understanding all of this wrong but the partition the OS is on is just a 16GB microSD card and I would prefer to have it on a drive with more storage.

Is this the wrong way to go about it?

Thanks again

• I think you're right. The database is data and would be better stored on a data disk (with RAID, backup, etc) than on the system disk. In older versions of OMV, you could configure a shared folder but that option was removed for some reason.

A workaround might be possible by creating a symlink to the data drive.

• Maybe I'm understanding all of this wrong but the partition the OS is on is just a 16GB microSD card and I would prefer to have it on a drive with more storage.
    Is this the wrong way to go about it?