iMac not seeing NAS

• I'm new to this so please keep it simple.

Ive built myself a sever and loaded the latest version on all seems to work brilliantly with one fault my iMac keeps loosing the connection to the server after about a day and I have to reboot the server in order to connect. All ip address's are static and my dvd player and TV's can see the sever connect and play films/music but on the iMac I just get connection failed whether I browse to the directories through finder or type the ip address into safari. I also have the server set to wake on Lan and published the directories using AFP.

Anyone got any ideas as to why.

Karl

• Offizieller Beitrag
    Zitat von "tekkbebe"

Why don't you set up a SMB/CIFS share and see if you have the same issues. If not you might want to think about using SAMBA instead of AFP.

I think Mac's can read/write NFS shares, so that should be an option as well.

Wasn't there some kind of problem w/ the AFP plugin not to long ago? I think it was somehow incompatible with Time Machine or something. I can't recall specifics, as frankly I didn't care because I don't own a Mac.

You might try searching the bug database, as I know there's been some AFP bugs.. maybe one has reared it's ugly head again.

• Offizieller Beitrag

Is your iMac connected wirelessly? I just installed the afp plugin and my mac mini works fine (running OS X 10.8).

omv 7.0.5-1 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.8 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.13 | compose 7.1.4 | k8s 7.1.0-3 | cputemp 7.0.1 | mergerfs 7.0.4

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github - changelogs

Please try ctrl-shift-R and read this before posting a question.

Please put your OMV system details in your signature.
    Please don't PM for support... Too many PMs!

• The iMac is connected by wire and I get the same issue when I set up file sharing using SMB/CIFS, i'll give the NFS a go and see what happens.