Newbie, Raspberry Pi, MotionEye, and OpenMediaVault!

• While the first term isn't so much a name but a description of me, but I'll embrace the former :)

I'm new to Linux and been trying to learn and be productive at the same time. My mother and stepfather would like to have a surveillance system watching the cars, the yard, the horse(s) and their field.

While I could've turned to any consumer product, hammer 'em up and call it a day I've often approached manufacturers with doubt regarding their products' security, abilities and very fast outdated support. So I decided to look at the DIY scene with Raspberry Pis using motioneye(os) and OMV for storage, overview and network middleman. This way no unencrypted streamed video of their home is leaked out, everything's centralized and under my/their (parent's) full control.

Both Motioneye and OMV are great choices because they can both be accessed remotely through the respective webinterfaces, and with one Pi acting as a center with OMV handling the easily accessed network share for mom to browse through. If any changes has to be made I can easily go through the GUI and execute whatever is needed, neat right?