End kernel panic on Raspberry Pi Model B

• Hello all,
    I'm pretty new to the world of linux but have a Raspberry Pi model B so decided to try to set up a NAS server. I flashed the latest version of OMW to a 16GB SD card using Win32DiskImager and connected ethernet, storage and a keyboard to the Raspberry Pi. The Pi boots, but never gets to login, instead just permanently freezing. The last three lines of the command line output are:

Code
    [  2.796764] ---[end Kernel panic - not syncing: attempted to kill init! exitcode=0x0000000b
    [  2.796764]
    [  5.132903] random: crng init done

I understand OMW is not made for the model B, but I thought I just had to downgrade some packages once logged in as root?
    If necessary I can just use an older version but I don't know which one is suitable.
    Many thanks,
    Spindles

• Offizieller Beitrag

OMV 3.x will not work on the B and it would require more than just downgrading a few packages. Use etcher to write the image as well.

omv 7.0-32 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.5 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.9 | compose 7.0.9 | cputemp 7.0 | mergerfs 7.0.3

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github

Please try ctrl-shift-R and read this before posting a question.

Please put your OMV system details in your signature.
    Please don't PM for support... Too many PMs!

• Offizieller Beitrag

which older version would you recommend then? Do any of them officially support the Pi 1 Model B?

The readme at https://sourceforge.net/projec…/Raspberry%20Pi%20images/ says which one works with the RPi1. I really would get a new board though since the RPi1 is painfully slow.

omv 7.0-32 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.5 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.9 | compose 7.0.9 | cputemp 7.0 | mergerfs 7.0.3

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github

Please try ctrl-shift-R and read this before posting a question.

Please put your OMV system details in your signature.