RAID, RAM and Cache

• Hi,

I am not an expert on this, but I have been investigating and I have several doubts.

I have a question regarding the use of RAM as a cache of RAID controllers. I
    have read that you can use some of the RAM as a disk cache and I was
    wondering if at least a RAID controller built into the motherboard could
    use part of the RAM with cache. And even if it could also be used as a cache of a RAID controller card, although this I see more difficult. I thought I read in a forum that if the motherboard allows it in any way, it could become possible.

• Offizieller Beitrag

I would like to know if it is possible to use part of the RAM of a motherboard as a cache of a RAID controller. It
    may sound a little absurd, but I've seen RAID cards out there that
    apparently have not, and I wondered if they were pulling RAM.

Most real raid cards have cache on the card. No idea how you would use motherboard ram as cache or why you would want to. If the card doesn't have it, there would probably be very little (if any) benefit.

said motherboard must have integrated RAID

Don't use the fake raid that most desktop boards have. It is worse than software raid for performance and you usually can't move it to another board if it fails.

omv 7.0-32 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.5 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.9 | compose 7.0.9 | cputemp 7.0 | mergerfs 7.0.3

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github

Please try ctrl-shift-R and read this before posting a question.

Please put your OMV system details in your signature.
    Please don't PM for support... Too many PMs!

• Offizieller Beitrag

Sorry I have reformulated the thread question, because I think I had not expressed it well. I think now I have been more precise in what I look for.