• So I'm new to RAID, NAS and Linux but proficient in general Windows-based computing. I'm hoping some nice people would point me to certain things to try so I can learn anything considered must-know or at least good-to-know.

I've installed OMV 3.0.89 and have it running fine with a share that I've successfully mapped as a network drive on my Windows PC.
    Setup is a Poweredge R510 with a Perc H700 (I'll be switching this out for an IT flashed H200). OS is installed on a 64GB SSD and have a RAID0 (2x160GB HDD), RAID5 (4x1TB HDD), RAID6 (5x1TB HDD) and a Hot Spare (1x1TB HDD).

Current hardware and config is all temporary for testing/learning. Once I have a backup solution I'll start on the real NAS (64GB SSD for OS and 8x10TB HDD in RAID6).

I'm not expecting guides or deep posts, something like "Try X" or "Play around with x" will probably do...possibly maybe?

• You probably don't need RAID, especially for 10TB drives, unless you are a business that requires high availability. What you do need is backup. What you might need is pooling. Other things that you might need will depend on what you want to do with your 80TB of storage..

• I'm aware using large drives is generally frowned upon due to build times and the high chance of another drive failing during a rebuild etc, but put simply I need a single large storage solution instead of constantly buying external hard drives.

Not to nit-pick but it'll be 60TB in RAID6. If my needs go high enough it'll likely end up 10 drives in RAID6 with an extra 2 HS, but that's not in the foreseeable future. Appreciate your feedback though.

• It's all for storage, not sure I'll be doing a media server. Might be interested in the future but not yet. Nonetheless I'll look into SnapRAID, having more than 2 parity drives would keep me at ease I think. Extra parity now, increase storage when I need it.

• Where/how do you backup this data?