ESXi and OMV on HP Proliant G8 - Advice

• Good morning guys,

I would like your opinion here. I have been using OMV for the last 2,5 years now and I am pretty happy with it. But the thing is I never get rid of the windows VM on PHP virtualbox and other couple of VMs that I need for my tests. As you know. PHP virtualbox on OMV is not actively maintained + I think the resources would be better managed by an ESXi which is natevely supported by my HP Microserver proliant G8 (The windows VM is slow if you compare a direct install on the SSD which I tried).

But here is the question, is this a good idea?

Currenty my set up is:

- One SSD 64GB for OMV (I also have a symbolic link to have a « shared folder » in OMV to use it for the windows VM on virtualbox. It’s much more quick than having it on the WD Red.
    - One WD Red 3TB member of the mirror
    - One WD Red 3TB member of the mirror
    - One WD Green 2TB used by rsync for a weekly copy of important things.
    - 6GB of RAM
    - It’s the prloliang G1610T with intel xeon.

Would it be possible to install the ESXi OS and the VMs on the SSD and physically keep my WD hard drivers to be « ONLY » managed by OMV? Or do I need a storage for the VMs separated from the ESXi OS? In this case, can I use a microSD or a pendrive to run the ESXi OS?

Another idea would be to take all my WD hard drivers and make them the « storage » of the ESXi and then in OMV create virtually a « mirror » with two virtual hard drives. I kind of don’t really this option....it’s just a feeling but maybe it’s ok?

One additional motivation is I always wanted to test ESXi at home.

And last but not least, what about the migration?! All my data are in the current set-up.

What would you do guys? I am open to options.

• You just need to passthrough the drives to the OMV VM.

Thanks @Nibb31, but what about my other questions:

- Can I use a microSD or a pendrive to run the ESXi OS?