New install on Gigabyte NUC, need advice

• Hello all, so i have a GIGABYTE NUC Mini Computer - Dual Core Intel 1.58ghz 160GB HDD + 4GB RAM that i bought from ebay, should arrive thursday . Along with this i also went for 8gb ram. The NUC currently has no OS installed so i need guidance installing OMV in this system. I keep coming up with links where people have issues with the onboard ethernet card on various systems. Should i expect to have issues as well? Aside from the OMV image what else would i need to have a successful install? How can i get ethernet port to work if indeed is not working upon first install?. Im currently using OMV on a raspberry pi 2 with two external drives so i want to replace this with the NUC. Please note i have no experience in Linux. Thanks and look forward to your suggestions.

• Offizieller Beitrag

I would try the latest OMV 3.x ISO and if it doesn't work, then we will come up with other ideas. Until then, I would guess it would work.

omv 7.0.5-1 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.5 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.11 | compose 7.1.3 | k8s 7.1.0-3 | cputemp 7.0 | mergerfs 7.0.3

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github - changelogs

Please try ctrl-shift-R and read this before posting a question.

Please put your OMV system details in your signature.
    Please don't PM for support... Too many PMs!

• I would try the latest OMV 3.x ISO and if it doesn't work, then we will come up with other ideas. Until then, I would guess it would work.

I already have OMV 3.x ISO setup on a flash drive. So basically plug it in to the NUC, turn it on and go from there?

• Offizieller Beitrag

Yep. Just make sure it is the latest version. Earlier versions use the 3.16 kernel which may not have driver support you need.

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.11 | compose 7.1.3 | k8s 7.1.0-3 | cputemp 7.0 | mergerfs 7.0.3

• Offizieller Beitrag

perfect.