Advice re: file System????

• Hi all,

I am new to OMV and would like some advice as to what file system to use that includes data protection and time snapshots.
    My understanding is zfs and btrfs both achieve this and are also available in OMV.

I have read numerous post regarding both file system and it appears as both have there pros and cons working within OMV. @tkaiser appears to be very knowledgeable regarding "file systems" and any advice would be really appreciated.

The system is a hp micro server gen 8 Xeon with 8gb ram. OMV is installed on a corsair voyager gtx usb ssd drive that boots fine. I have 3x 4tb hdd's (zfs or btrfs raid) and 1x 8tb hdd that wanted to use as a backup solution possibly rsnapshot? ?(
    I intend to install packages - plex, docker and nextcloud.

Any advice would be appreciated as to the best utilize the system.

Thanks in advance Andy :)

• Offizieller Beitrag

what file system to use that includes data protection and time snapshots.

There are quite a few ways to do this. You can do snapshots at the block level (lvm), filesystem level (zfs, brtfs), file level (rsnapshot). You can also do data protection at the filesystem level (zfs, btrfs) and file level (snapraid).

It would be helpful to know why you want snapshots? Personally, I use ext4 with rsnapshot with plenty of backup.

omv 7.0-32 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.5 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.9 | compose 7.0.9 | cputemp 7.0 | mergerfs 7.0.3

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github

Please try ctrl-shift-R and read this before posting a question.

Please put your OMV system details in your signature.
    Please don't PM for support... Too many PMs!