Mount disk error (Newbie here)

• Hi all,
    I apologize if this has been asked and/or answered before. I am new to OMV as well as use of Raspberry PI, I am trying to create a NAS because i'm tired of connecting hard drives to my laptops to move files over to another laptop. I have followed all the steps I can from what I have found, but I am encountering this error when trying to mount the disk.

using Raspberry Pi 3
    I had downloaded the latest version of OMV for it last night
    I have formatted my 32GB microSD card to FAT32
    I am using a 1TB external hard drive with no separate external power source aside from USB connection (formatted in exFAT)
    I then inserted the micro SD, connected ethernet, and external then powered up and went through boot and obtained IP address

Next, I added a user and then went to mount the disk, and now this is where I stand

Failed to execute command 'export PATH=/bin:/sbin:/usr/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/local/sbin; export LANG=C; mount -v --source '/dev/sda1' 2>&1' with exit code '32': mount: unknown filesystem type 'exfat'

I'm not sure really where to go from here.....any help would be greatly appreciated. I am not opposed to starting from scratch either.
    Thank you in advance.

Here are the full details of the error

Error #0:
    exception 'OMV\ExecException' with message 'Failed to execute command 'export PATH=/bin:/sbin:/usr/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/local/sbin; export LANG=C; mount -v --source '/dev/sda1' 2>&1' with exit code '32': mount: unknown filesystem type 'exfat'' in /usr/share/php/openmediavault/system/process.inc:175Stack trace:#0 /usr/share/php/openmediavault/system/filesystem/filesystem.inc(715): OMV\System\Process->execute()
    #1 /usr/share/openmediavault/engined/module/fstab.inc(72): OMV\System\Filesystem\Filesystem->mount()
    #2 /usr/share/openmediavault/engined/rpc/config.inc(194): OMVModuleFsTab->startService()