Need help setting up.

• Hello, I have downloaded the OMV image on to my raspberry pi. Everything is working, but I need a help as I'm a newbie with computing.

1. How do I use my raspberry pi 2 with a dongle without Ethernet cable?
    I tried this out, I enabled wifi in networking and I put in the ssid and password of my wifi. Is that all I need to do? If so, I removed the Ethernet cable and it won't work.

2. How do I upload items as a user from iPad, iPhone, etc.

When I try logging on my Mac to upload somethings from there, it accepts it but says there is something wrong with the server and I can't access it.

3. How would I setup the OMV so that I could access from anywhere such as away from local network.

Thanks. :D:thumbup:

Raspberry Pi 2 and 3, Quad-core processor, 1 GB of RAM.

• Offizieller Beitrag

Welcome to OMV :thumbup:
    Your questions cover a wide range of topics. Might be worth to split the thread in three seperate threads.
    Before that it might be a good idea to search the forum. You might find answers there already. At least the search might help you to be a bit more specific on the quesitons.

A good starting point are also these videos: OMV Setup Videos

2. How do I upload items as a user from iPad, iPhone, etc.

When I try logging on my Mac to upload somethings from there, it accepts it but says there is something wrong with the server and I can't access it.

There are plenty of ways to do this.

• on Windows you would use SMB/CIFS. Not sure if you can use the same on iDings
    • FTP client like Filezilla or WinSCP (probably there is something similar for Apple)
    • WebDAV
    • Cloud solution like Nextcloud, Owncloud or Pydio
    • Backupsolutions like Duplicati or Urbackup

3. How would I setup the OMV so that I could access from anywhere such as away from local network.

VPN

• First have a look at the videos for a general introduction on how to set up OMV.
    Then take it one by one.

We are here to help you (if we can)!!!!