Cannot view filesystem after creation

• I'm brand new to OMV (and to NAS systems in general) and I've been having some installation issues. I have two new data disks in my system, and I was able to set up a RAID1 without any issues.

hen I go to create a file system, it goes through the creation process as seen here:

Seems normal to me. OMV even tells me that it was successfully created:

owever, immediately after the file system says "Successfully created", it disappears:

just doesn't appear in the list at all. I tried quick wiping both disks and recreating the RAID, but same issue. Could it be a hardware issue? I was having issues with FreeNAS so I switched to OMV, where both times I've been getting errors on one of my disks on the system screen. I switched SATA cables and ports on the "bad" disk, which didn't change the errors I was getting.

• If you want to stay in the GUI:

- Try wiping both disks. Then set up a file system on each individual disk.
    - Enable smart. (Under Storage, SMART.)

The status light is a rough indicator, but if you highlight the drive in question and click the Information button, you'll get attribute details.

Are you suggesting to set up a file system on each individual disk to test? Because I wanted to use a RAID setup.
    I already had SMART enabled on the disk that I think might be having issues, but I don't know where to check it out.

• I was doing FreeNAS before, so I'm perfectly fine with ZFS. As for your previous comment, I had set up long test to run overnight for both so I have results now.

What should I be looking for in these test results?

• Actually didn't separate the drives before doing the SMART tests, so doing that now. I did a quick wipe before on both disks, is a secure wipe necessary since it takes so much longer?

I know some very basic command line stuff, but I'm comfortable with instructions.

• A quick wipe is fine. (Secure wipe is a way to erase the contents of the drive. Usually not necessary.)