Best way to set up a multi odroid HC1 network with Seagate 5TB drives in a raid 5

• Hi,
    I am new to the odroid OMV world and I love what I see so far. I have 1 Odroid HC1 up and running with a 5TB drive set up as a SMB file share for my windows home network. I have 3 more HC1s with a couple more 5TB drives and I might throw in a 1 TB SSD or 2 via USB. I have been looking for a good source to guide me in setting up all 4 devices to expand the size of the data drive as well as create a good backup and repair scheme for the network drive in a RAID 5. I see how to set them up individually, just not working together. Not sure how to get them configured as either a master / slave configuration or a server / client configuration or which one would be better. I also plan on setting it up as cloud based system so I can access the files remotely.

Thanks in advance and best regards,

Denver

• OS/Debian information
    Distributor ID: debian
    Description: Debian GNU/Linux 8 (jessie)
    Release: 8.10
    Codename: Jessie
    openmediavault information
    Release: 3.0.95
    Date
    Sun Dec 24 23:31:18 EST 2017
    Hostname
    xxxxxx
    System information
    Linux odroidxu4 4.9.61-odroidxu4 #12 SMP PREEMPT Thu Nov 23 01:34:59 PST 2017 armv7l GNU/Linux

• RAID 5

...is always a really bad idea and does only work with local disks (not disks spread accross 'cluster nodes' as you're trying to implement it).

create a good backup and repair scheme for the network drive in a RAID 5

RAID is not backup. It feels weird having to write this sentence these days.

• Tkaiser,

actually both. This is for my home network and right now just trying to get stuff figured out, tweaked, perfected and then I hope to really expand on it later after 64 bit boards are available. Maybe start with a RAID 1 and move to a RAID 5 or just implement a RAID 5. Looking to be able to expand to 20, 30 or what ever size when I need to so I thought using the HC1 boards would be perfect.