Share a USB connected UPS

• I have an APC Back-UPS RS 1300 LCD hanging off a Windows 2016 server via USB and it's currently using the integrated UPS software.

I'd like to set it up so I can signal my OMV server to shutdown when the UPS power is low.

I tried to install WINNUT on the server but the USB drive install fails, either way I'd like to keep the UPS on that server and have OMV monitor it remotely. If I have to, I'll switch it around but I'll need instructions on how to install WINNUT and configure it to monitor either way.

What about apcupsd, is it an option since I'm using an APC UPS?

Thanks,

• I have a similar configuration with a UPS attached to my Linux desktop machine. FYI, the NUT plugin in OMV doesn't allow you to configure monitoring a remote NUT server. The plugin installs NUT, but you'll need to configure NUT manually using a terminal to do remote monitoring. When you do it should work just fine.

Sorry I have no experience with WINNUT. How old is the UPS? I would think most modern units would work with a generic HID driver.

Edit: It looks like WINNUT is beta, and I'm not even sure if it includes the server side? At least it used to be client only. You may have better luck attaching the UPS to your OMV machine.

• OK so if figured I'd try the path of least resistance an setup the UPS on OMV, then try to figure out WINNT, which I believe I already have.

However OMV isn't recognizing my UPS.

I have it setup with the following driver config:

driver = usbhid-ups
    port = auto

It's plugged into a USB port on OMV.

I receive the following error, I've also listed the log entry below:

Failed to execute command 'export PATH=/bin:/sbin:/usr/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/local/sbin; export LANG=C; systemctl start 'nut-server' 2>&1' with exit code '1': A dependency job for nut-server.service failed. See 'journalctl -xn' for details.

Error #0: