Docker, Plugin or DEB for Emby Server

• Howdy-doo-doo,

Looking @ installing Emby and I know there is a plugin via OMV-Extras but is it better to install Emby via Docker as I have seen a few posts saying that it is better to do this as you will get the most up-to-date releases and its just better overall if so as I'm very new to Docker how does it work and could someone explain how I would go about installing Emby via Docker as I have never used it before (I'm assuiming I D/L Docker via OMV-Extras?).

EDIT: Okay so I believe there is potentially 3 ways to install Emby Server either via the OMV plugin, docker or DEB package file (backend) - So which one would be better? - Auto updates, etc.

/Ky

• Offizieller Beitrag

I vote for the docker route.

omv 7.0-32 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.5 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.9 | compose 7.0.9 | cputemp 7.0 | mergerfs 7.0.3

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github

Please try ctrl-shift-R and read this before posting a question.

Please put your OMV system details in your signature.
    Please don't PM for support... Too many PMs!

• Offizieller Beitrag

Yeah after a bit of reserch I found that the plugin dosen't work anymore so it's either Docker or offical deb package, I'm leaning towards the deb package - any pro's or con's?

The emby/embyserver docker is official as well. So, I would imagine both are going to work well. I lean toward docker due to the number of packages (mono) that need to be installed. If these are contained in a docker, you know you are getting the correct versions and they aren't bloating your stable OMV box :)

omv 7.0-32 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.5 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.9 | compose 7.0.9 | cputemp 7.0 | mergerfs 7.0.3

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github

Please try ctrl-shift-R and read this before posting a question.

Please put your OMV system details in your signature.