Combinating RAID1 and normal storage possible?

• Hi,

I'd like to DIY build a 4 bay NAS running OMV to replace my readynas.

Since I have a bunch of family photos that I don't want to lose, I would like to store them in a RAID1 with 2 disks.
    The less important things like movies and music, I'd like to store on a third disk with the possibility to add a second disk to increase storage.

Is a combination possible and how can I set this up?

I'm a newbie with limited linux experience, so don't get to technical on me.

Thanks

• I would like to store them in a RAID1 with 2 disks.

Don´t forget to make a data backup also with RAID! Raid is for availability not for data security. Often some get more problems with "online" raid then without. Think about a solution with snapraid.

OMV 3.0.100 (Gray style)

ASRock Rack C2550D4I C0-stepping - 16GB ECC - 6x WD RED 3TB (ZFS 2x3 Striped RaidZ1) - Fractal Design Node 304 -

3x WD80EMAZ Snapraid / MergerFS-pool via eSATA - 4-Bay ICYCube MB561U3S-4S with fan-mod

• RAID is not for backup. It only allows you to keep on working when a drive fails, which is not a priority for most home users.
    RAID is a real-time mirror, so if something happens to your files (accidental deletion, corruption, malware, etc...) then it is instantly replicated to both drives.

What you want is backup. This can be achieved with two disks, by replicating the content on a regular basis.

Anyway, you can set up your storage any way you like in OMV.

• RAID is a real-time mirror, so if something happens to your files (accidental deletion, corruption, malware, etc...) then it is instantly replicated to both drives.

Just to add some more confusion and not trying to address what @hrc450 really wants (backup instead of RAID)...