Combinating RAID1 and normal storage possible?

• OMV 3.x

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Combinating RAID1 and normal storage possible?

Hi,

I'd like to DIY build a 4 bay NAS running OMV to replace my readynas.

Since I have a bunch of family photos that I don't want to lose, I would like to store them in a RAID1 with 2 disks.
      The less important things like movies and music, I'd like to store on a third disk with the possibility to add a second disk to increase storage.

Is a combination possible and how can I set this up?

I'm a newbie with limited linux experience, so don't get to technical on me.

Thanks
    • RAID is not for backup. It only allows you to keep on working when a drive fails, which is not a priority for most home users.
      RAID is a real-time mirror, so if something happens to your files (accidental deletion, corruption, malware, etc...) then it is instantly replicated to both drives.

What you want is backup. This can be achieved with two disks, by replicating the content on a regular basis.

Anyway, you can set up your storage any way you like in OMV.
    • Nibb31 wrote:

RAID is a real-time mirror, so if something happens to your files (accidental deletion, corruption, malware, etc...) then it is instantly replicated to both drives.
      Just to add some more confusion and not trying to address what @hrc450 really wants (backup instead of RAID)...

With btrfs' own RAID-1 mode and by creating snapshots automatically and running scrubs automatically the above threats ('accidental deletion, corruption, malware') can be addressed somehow. The RAID-1 mode combined with checksumming allows for self-healing in case data got corrupted on disk, the snapshots protect for 'software and user originated failure' and what many people don't know: btrfs' own RAID-1 mode allows to add a bunch of disks even of different size still only wasting half of the capacity for redundancy.