Multiple USB disks to RPI - A power problem?

• Hi Guys,
    I'm an amateur geek so please help me out figure something out.
    I have OMV running on a RPI3 and I had one external HDD plugged to it (the HDD has its own power source).

Recently I wanted to setup a RAID system so hooked up 2 other HDDs hoping to go for RAID5. But after reading on the forum I realized it's a bad idea to build a Raid using RPI and USB-attached HDDs. So I gave up the idea of a RAID and just using all 3 HDDs separately.

However, I have noticed that since I added the 2 additional drives, the write/read speed of my initial disk has dropped tremendously. I don't know how to measure that accurately, just estimating it by comparing copy time before and after linking the other disks.

All 3 disks have their own power supply so I'm not sure what is causing this slow down. Could it be that eventhough the disks have their power source, each USB cable requires a bit of Amp from the RPI and it's being unable to supply it? Would linking all 3 disks to a common "powered usb hub" and then linking this powered hub to the rpi fix that problem? Because this way the rpi can dedicate its power for only 1 port and then the powered hub takes care of the remaining.

I would appreciate any opinion or advice. Thank you.

• I don't think it's a power issue. First of all, RAID on an RPi is a very very bad idea, mainly because multiple drives on an RPi is a very bad idea.

The problem with the RPi hardware is that a single slow 100Mb/s bus is shared by all four USB ports AND the Ethernet ports. It doesn't have 4 independent USB ports, but a hub plugged into a single bus, that is also shared by the network traffic. Plugging 3 drives into an RPi, while using the network, is a recipe for slowness.

This is why the RPi is an extremely poor choice for a NAS.

• I don't think it's a power issue. First of all, RAID on an RPi is a very very bad idea, mainly because multiple drives on an RPi is a very bad idea.