Raid 5 growing

• Hello all
    Another noob here with hopefully an easy question.

So I used 4 8tb drives and used OMV to set them into a Raid 5. I like the software and the speed of the NAS so I now have 2 More 88tb drives to add so I want to grow the array.

So my question would be. Can I add both new drives at once then tell OMV to grow the array? Or do I have to add one disk and grow the array and then repeat with the second new drive?

So can I add them both at once or do I have to add them one at a time?

Thanks for any help in advance. Just getting my self sorted so when the drives get here I can install them and actually do it correctly.

:)

• Offizieller Beitrag

Does the array go offline while it is growing. Or Does it continue to file share while it's rebuilding?

It stays online but accessing can greatly slow down the rebuild.

omv 7.0.4-2 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.5 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.10 | compose 7.1.2 | k8s 7.0-6 | cputemp 7.0 | mergerfs 7.0.3

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github

Please try ctrl-shift-R and read this before posting a question.

Please put your OMV system details in your signature.
    Please don't PM for support... Too many PMs!

• lol I noticed spell correct was changing it to 88tb I thought I caught them all . lol

Okay I have to edit this because I can't find the time it takes to add a drive to the array. I shutdown and installed one new 8tb drive. Booted up logged in thru root gui. Wiped the new drive then hit grow and selected the new drive and added it to the array. Hit save then apply pops up so I apply. It appears to apply but I don't see anywhere thru the gui to see the progress of the addition of this drive to the array.
    So someone please tell me where to look for the status of this operation. Because i looked thru every page and I can't see it. :(