Install Kernel Panic - Stumped

• Greetings,

I have been using OMV for about 2 years and it's always been rock solid, which is why I love it. Unfortunately, we were hit with some flooding in the midwest a month or so ago and my server that lived in my basement, went for a swim. Bad news was the server was a loss, but the data wasn't and insurance covered a new server build, which brings me here.

I just put together a brand new machine dedicated to running OMV based on a AMD FX-6300 6 core cpu, ASUS M5A78L-M LX PLUS Motherboard, 16GB of Patriot DDR3-1600, 30GB SSD boot drive and 5 3 TB Seagate SATA drives. Build went together smoothly but for the past 2 days I have been trying to get OMV to boot and install on this machine.

Both off the CD installer as well as a USB thumbdrive I get the same results, as soon as the machine trys to boot, I get "Kernel panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(254,32)

I have tried about every bios combination I can think of that might have an effect on this and nothing makes a difference.

I even went so far as to try the install to the SSD in another machine, which installed fine off the same USB stick. I then swapped the drive into the new machine and it booted with a few warnings, but after setting up a share and test copying a few large files, the machine kernel panics every time.

I am at a loss and was wondering if anyone here had any suggestions, it would be greatly appreciated.

• Try to install Debian 6.0.7 first and install OMV onto it. What you're trying with installing the SSD in a different system configuration is a bad idea, which already lead to problems (the kernel panics), as you see.

Greetings
    David

"Well... lately this forum has become support for everything except omv" [...] "And is like someone is banning Google from their browsers"

Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former.

Upload Logfile via WebGUI/CLI